Ghostwriting is YOU talking and me writing. YOUR voice = your story.

aghostwritingproject

What is a ghost writer?

How can a ghost writer help you write your story? If a ghost writer does help you write your story, will it still be your story?

What is the difference between a biographer and a ghost writer?

These are very good questions to ask when you have a story to tell, but feel like you may need someone to help you write.

A biographer is someone who will actually write the story for you. They may write the story in their own voice, and it may be more about facts and less about personal storytelling, but more like a story about you rather than a story that is coming from. You may not do any writing at all if you let the biography do it all for you. The biographer may interview you as part of the research, but they’re doing the integral part of writing and just telling your story for you. A biographer will write the story in whole for you, but not necessarily as you.

As a ghostwriter, I’m here to help you write your own story. I help you find your voice and shape content for your story to structure it out one chapter at a time. It will be in your voice because YOU are the author. I’ll structure and write out the details and points that we discuss for your story. However, it is you who decides the characters, people, places, things, memories, emotions, humor, drama, points in life that are relevant to the content of your story.  You decide what is to be included in your book. Any additional information, omissions and changes are entirely up to you.

We will write up drafts for your chapters and I will send it to you for review. It is good when you read the drafts and ideas related to your story because the more that we write the words will start to flow. If you keep a journal of your experiences or record your thoughts, it makes it easier to write them out into a structured outline. We can use those memories to write out your story in your voice. You may want to talk about something in your book and once it’s written and you read it you may decide that you don’t want it in your story, that is fine. This is part of the writing process. It’s great when you want to add more to the voice of the story and you want to make changes in your book because that means your creative juices are flowing! That’s the point of me helping you with ghostwriting.

Overall, my job is to help you get your ideas flowing so that together, we can write the story out of your system and put it down onto paper. Right now, I’m only doing ghostwriting. I’m not a biographer. However, I do know a couple of great biographers who are wonderful storytellers. I can provide recommendations if you’re looking for a biographer.

Contact me if you need help with writing your story. Visit http://feliciajohnsonauthor.com/services/ghostwriting/. Email me at herthebook@gmail.com.

2 Comments

  1. I’m so excited & grateful that u posted this article! I’ve been wanting to write an autobiography for as long as I can remember…I’m unsure of the protocols re ‘ghostwriting ‘ but I’d genuinely love to hear more about it. If you can spare the time I’d honestly like to explore this option further.

    Thanks again for this article; I hope to hear from you soon.

    Sincerely Yours,
    Dionne Baillie (Dee)

    Liked by 1 person


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

