Raising awareness about mental health: Leave No Girl Behind International Girl’s Empowerment Testimonials

Image

This blog post is dedicated to the testimonials of the wonderful group of young ladies in Africa that I had the honor of speaking with a few weeks ago. If you have not had a chance to read the previous blog, please do check it out by clicking here before reading the testimonials. https://feejohnson.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/leave-no-girl-behind-international-girls-empowerment/

Felicia Johnson Speaking-article

Leave No Girl Behindhttp://www.leavenogirlbehind.org

Testimonials:

“I found the Skype enlightening because there were many things I was uncertain of like my career and writing.  Thank you because if it weren’t for the Skype I wouldn’t have started writing again.  I have started writing a play which I am at Act 2 already.  Besides that it was my first time Skyping so I found that interesting.  I really did enjoy it.”
 ~ Mpumelelo Ngcobo (M.P.), 15yrs old
“What I really liked about the Skype session was that you motivated me about how to not let anyone put me down or make me feel ashamed of myself”
~ Buhle Zondo, 12yrs old
“I thoroughly enjoyed the Skype session as I learned a lot from it.  I now have more clarity about things which were once ‘blurred’.  I liked the way we were able to ask questions freely, and there were no limitations.  You woke up at like 6 – 7 am in the morning just to Skype with us, greatly appreciated.”
~ Asande Vilane, 12yrs old
“I thoroughly enjoyed our Skype session and I really liked how you told your story and it really impacted me, especially how you said that even though you’ve been through a lot, you coped with it by writing and I myself write a lot and I think that you really inspired me in that way, especially how you said to follow your dreams.  You really touched me a lot, so thank you.”
~  Laiya Mahomed, 13yrs old
“As a young lady I had taken away with me that each person has a story, a background of some kind.  It may be painful but others use where they ahve come from and change it to something beautiful and happier in turn they help inspire others to do the same with their lives.  Thank you Miss Johnson.”
~ Phindile Ndlovu, 16 yrs old
“I thought your life story was very interesting!  I also learnt a lot from things like how you coped with your struggles by writing about it.  For me I also write a diary every now and again, and it really does help to write about your feelings when you have a problem or issue.  I really did enjoy the things you talked to us about. =)
If I ever get a chance to I hope we will be able to talk again.  Thank you. =)”
~ Aphelele Ndlovu, 14 yrs old
“I was very touched by your life story and was inspired by your perseverance.  The passion in which you portrayed when speaking about journaling somewhat re-ignited my love for literature.  I stopped writing because my life got too busy and I realised that this might possibly be why I’m stressed.  I no longer have an outlet so I bottle everything up and I think its affecting me academically.  You might not of meant to, but you awakened a passion in me which I thought I had buried long ago. Stay beautiful!!”
~  Samukelisiwe Mthembu, 17yrs old
“Your story growing up was very touching.  I started reading books.  I also went and told my mum, a good reader makes a good writer.  I will never forget those words.”
~ Ayesha Dawjee, 13 yrs old
“I enjoyed the Skyping session with Felicia Johnson because I learned a lot of new things like keeping journals.  I was very touched by the way she wrote a journal for her late best friend so that she could remember her by and that she wrote based on her friend.  I loved her kind heart and the joy and smile that she had when she was talking about her writing and how passionate she is about writing and journal keeping makes me want to be passionate about my activities.”
~ Mathu Mnisi, 14 yrs old
“What I liked about the Skype was when Felicia Johnson talked about how she started writing and the sad story of how she lost her best friend because she never wrote her feelings down.”
~ Nokuthula Simelane, 12 yrs old
“I had fun and really learnt a lot because keeping something on a piece of paper is better than keeping it in your heart and what I mean by that is its better to write about the things that hurt you than to leave it to carry on hurting you.”
~ Nokukhanya Makhanya, 13 yrs old
Image
3 Comments

  1. It sounds like everyone took a lot from that Skype session! Good job!! I hope that you get to talk to them again. 😀

    Like

  2. I sent their journals to them and they have been received. I can’t wait to see how their progressing with journaling.

    Like

  3. […] and other mental illnesses. I have shared my strategies for journaling with a very special group of young students in Africa, and many left feeling empowered and […]

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

